Moving On – Michael Wood

Around 1998 I watched the BBC documentary television series In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great written & hosted by Michael Wood. It was love at first sight!

Wood was entertaining, informative, passionate about history and very easy on the eye.

By 14 November 1998 I had a copy of the accompanying book in my hands. Two years later he was in South America with Conquistadors. I had a copy of the book by 11 August 2001.

The following year in August 2002, I found a copy of In Search of the Trojan War (2001) at Macquarie Park and realised there was a whole backlist that I could acquire!

In Search of England: Journeys into the English Past (2001) and Legacy (1999) were both acquired in September 2003 also from Macquarie Park. This was at a time when I was attending annual conferences at Macquarie Uni. I cannot remember which bookshop was in the centre at the time, I suspect it was Borders, but it became an annual pilgrimage to gather as many new books as my budget would allow.

My love for Michael Wood will never die! But I no longer need his books cluttering up my shelves. I will happily watch reruns of his old BBC programs though.

Leave a comment